Moments

It’s hard…life that is.

It’s hard going through transitions…making choices…paying bills…getting hurt…stepping on toes…losing people along the way…finding jobs…seeking meaning…staying consistent…remembering the things that really matter…not eating too much…exercising enough…finishing books…starting them for that matter…

Why is it that these things are so difficult? Is it that we really don’t care enough about them…that we just think that we care about them or that someone has convinced us that we care about them? I’m not sure exactly, but none of these things are easy. They take work.

But then I get caught up in the work. Am I simply going to work at everything, for the rest of my life, til the day I die. Am I always going to be tired? Will I ever get enough sleep? How come my weekends aren’t restful? Do I do too much? Do I have too many friends?

Then I get to the point where I don’t care. I get apathetic. I want to…and sometimes do…quit. Be done. Not try. But that never solves it.

But in that moment. The moment that takes place just after the apathy lifts itself off my shoulders and my lungs fill with the first fresh breath of crisp air…that moment is where I want to stay. The moment where I’m re-inspired. The moment where I post on my blog for the first time since October…the moment where I go to bed when I’m supposed to…the moment that gives me the ability to wake up renewed, regenerated…the moment where the first cup of coffee for the day tastes better than any cup before it…the moment where I smile for no reason…the moment where everything comes into focus…the moment where for the first time in so many months the sunrise means something so much more than the ability to see…where Mt. Ranier is so clear that you have to call someone to make sure they get out that day and see it.

Last weekend was that moment.

I’m more convinced than ever that it will last. But if it doesn’t, it’ll be back.

It always comes back.

My advice for you…don’t wait for the moment, make it.

Yours,

Josh

7 Responses to Moments

  1. goldfearsnofire says:

    hey, thanks for the post. i miss you buddy. oh, and check out eugene’s blog…you and bethany made it on! way to be front-rowers!!! I know that you’re excited for the 24th, but seriously, after you and Bethany, I might be the next most excited person involved. Parents!?! nope…it’s me. bet on it.

  2. Bethany Krumm says:

    WOW we are in the picture on Euguene’s blog. That was for Shane Claiborne….

  3. Lauren says:

    Hey! Always fun to read a new post from you. I had a great time catching up with BK the other day…I hope you guys had a good weekend at the conference. 🙂

  4. joseph says:

    This was good to hear. You know that for some reason when I think of mount rainier being out on a clear morning I think of us driving to that dang day care.

  5. Mike says:

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  6. Eric Roorback says:

    Josh! I just stumbled across your blog via David Bordner’s blog. How have you been…since the last time we talked, which was sadly longer than I can remember, a few years though at least.
    This comment has nothing to do with your post – I did appreciate it, however – but I just wanted to say hi. I would love to catch up on your life over the past while; sadly, I’ve since lost your number but will leave mine in the hope that we can chat soon: 425.825.4563. I hope your life – despite its never ending complexities and difficulties – is going well!

Leave a Reply

