Mommy and Daddy Return

Written on 5/6/2008

Well…in the late afternoon, Dasia’s mommy and daddy came home. That’s right, back to young adulthood without children. It was a fun time and Dasia’s actually not too bad for being two. We had a lot of fun, but will take some lasting memories from the experience.

The top five memories are as follows:

5.) “Come on vamanos! Everybody let’s go! You know there’s nothing to it! You know that we can do it! D-d-d-d-d-Dora! d-d-d-d-d-Dora! Dora, Dora, Dora the Explorer! With Boots their super cool explora loras!” Why do I know the entire intro song to Dora the Explorer? Twice a day ought to do it.

4.) Due to the fact that Dasia sees me more often, Bethany is also called Josh.

3.) SMACK! Followed by blood curdling screams as I open a door at a faster than normal speed only to find that Dasia’s forehead was positioned perfectly behind the door to absorb all of it’s impact.

2.) “Dasia! Do not touch the doggy’s poop!”

1.)    Bathtime. While I was preparing the water for Dasia’s bath, Bethany made the crucial mistake of prematurely removing Dasia’s clothes. A pint of pee later, I had to leave the room so Bethany could change her soaked shirt. Dasia just smiled and said, “Uh-oh!”

That about sums up our babysitting experience. Hope you enjoyed!

Done,
Joshua

2 Responses to Mommy and Daddy Return

  1. laureninethiopia says:

    I almost peed reading this. Hi-stinking-larious. I didn’t really become acquainted with Dasia while I was in Addis, but I do remember seeing her a few times and thinking she was adorable. And, I’m glad to hear that she (and other two year olds around the world) can double as effective pre-marital sex dissuaders. I’m glad you and B survived the experience. I miss you guys and Addis like crazy! I just organized some of my photos for a presentation about Ethiopia that I’ll be giving later this week…it definitely left me a little misty-eyed. Oh, and I made the amazing peanut sauce recipe that you guys gave me the other day. Incredible. Next up: peanut butter popcorn. Remember when I ate a pound of that the day you met me? Sheesh, I make a good first impression. Please have about seven macciatos for me and have a great day!

  2. Dave Parsi says:

    Read it. Love You. It was a loving gift to give your friends. Poor Dasia’s head. Appreciate your Mom. DP

Leave a Reply

