A Note to Self and Seahawks WIN!!!!

Written 4/23/2008

Well, it’s been about a week since my last post. I figured I should give people a little time to catch up on my recent post explosion, and given my recent lack of Internet connectivity, even if I had written something, it wouldn’t have made it up. So let’s see…what’s new?

Over the weekend, a friend came to the house and spent the night. His name is Nodair. “Nod” like when you nod your head. And “Air” like the stuff you breathe. He is a friend that is from Seattle, but I never knew him until we met here through a mutual friend. He’s a really cool guy and he likes a lot of the same stuff I do…climbing, sports, card games, etc. On Saturday, we spent the afternoon watching the Arsenal-v-Reading game with Getu along with us. If you don’t remember Getu, look back to the post entitled “An All-Star Cast.” Arsenal won 2-0 with goals by Adebayor and Gilberto. Then it was back across the city to our house to watch the Manchester United-v-Blackburn game. Ending in a 1-1 tie, Blackburn almost pulled it out and made me the happiest individual in Addis Ababa. I’ll take the tie though. It was great to hang out with Nod and he and I got to talk about my faith and what I believe. Growing up in an eastern religious family, he never learned much about western religion, and therefore Christianity. He is really interested.

Monday was…a day to remember. I’m not sure if you know this, but the sun in Africa is just a tad bit hotter than the sun in Seattle. I knew this, so I applied a generous coating of SPF 30 sunscreen before I got out into the open air. We lay by the pool at the Ghion hotel ($2 entrance fee for a whole day at an Olympic size pool) for a couple hours, did some reading and then hopped in. Here comes the good part. When I got out of the pool, I didn’t reapply. Then we sat out for another couple hours. When I got home, I was fine, but that night…I was in pain. To say the least, I looked like a lobster all over my back. Not my front…just the back. Oh, and the back of my knees. Oh, and the tops of my feet. I’m still reaping what I sowed, but it’s slowly getting better. Note to self…the sun is hot…especially in Africa. Check.

I forgot to mention this last week, but I figured I’d let you all know the most amazing thing that has happened in all of my time here. So I was walking down the street and saw a man wearing an American NFL t-shirt. The script read, “Seahawks Superbowl XL Champions!!!!!!” I was pumped. I was almost positive that the Steelers won that game, but according to this man’s shirt, I, along with millions of other Americans, was wrong. The Seahawks had in fact won the Superbowl! Well, once I got online, my hopes were shattered when I found out that I was correct in the first place in that the Steelers did win, but it was fun while it lasted. For each sports championship, they print up both sets of t-shirts and other apparel and whichever team wins, they just sell those right after the game. Apparently the losing teams shirts get sent to Ethiopia. So…in Addis Ababa, the Seahawks reign as Superbowl XL Champs. GO HAWKS!!!!

Hope you all are doing well.

Crispy,
Joshua

One Response to A Note to Self and Seahawks WIN!!!!

  1. Ric Wild says:

    I saw a similiar thing in Costa Rica. You should have bought the Seahawks shirt of the guy. I can’t believe you let him get away.

Leave a Reply

