A New Discovery

Written 1/15/2008

Well…I got a new email address simply because gmail was a ton faster than SPU’s webmail. And when you’re using dial-up connections all the time, you take all the speed you can get.

 So…I’ve had it for about two weeks now and I like it a lot. It’s easy to use and it’s great for minimizing all the junk I had in all my many Outlook folders. I think it’s just a lot more simple…and being in Africa, I like simple.

 But as we speak, I am engaging in the most profound of experiences that I have had in the realm of contact with home.

 Gmail chatting.

It’s not lightning fast and it isn’t like talking on the phone. But it doesn’t cost a million dollars a minute, and I can talk to multiple people at once.

So why am I telling you all this?

I am asking from the bottom of my heart…sign up for gmail. Even if you don’t use it for email purposes, you can still chat with me. And that’s a pretty good deal.

If you plan to do so…my new email is tugglj@gmail.com. I’m usually on at 10am-12pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays. So that’s 11pm-1am Pacific Time (Seattle). I would love to talk to any of you readers out there, so chat if you can. It’s pretty incredible. Just ask Travis Wals…he can confirm.

Just so you all know…I’m feeling a little better today, but it’s ovcercast in the city for the first time in about 3 months and it’s trapping the smog in…let’s just say that it’s like breathing in a rainforest exhibit at a zoo…but instead of water vapor, you’re breathing diesel gas fumes and raw sewage. So the lungs are getting a workout today, but the coughing has gone down significantly.

And something else…last night, Bethany and I went on a date (Monday nights are date nights) and we went to a new restaurant that we hadn’t been to before. Let’ s just say…I had barbeque chicken, potato salad, coleslaw, and cornbread. Halfway through the meal, I almost forgot that my girlfriend was sitting across from me…let’s just say I was taken away with the taste of actual barbeque flavor…and it was even spelled correctly on the menu! Usually most things are mis-spelled. For example…

“Skrampled egs”, “parpeekue”, “french frice”, “chez berger”, and the list goes on. We have come to the conclusion that if the menu uses proper English and correct spellng…we’re in for a treat!

So the food was good, but Bethany and I had a great time together…with what little energy I had left at the end of the day. It’s no fun being sick here.

Anyway, I feel like I am blabbing now, so I’ll go. Hope you all are doing well and enjoying health in the States. Miss you greatly and look forward to your comments.

Getting back to health using BBQ chicken,

Joshua

Leave a Reply

